Skip to content

Working From Home

August 22, 2007

I often work from home. Usually this is due to an on call schedule or to catch up. Today is a bit different though. I am working on the home computer that had a bad system board. The problem was doubled when the IDE controller wiped out the master boot record that essentially serves as an index to all the files on the drive. I have seen this before, so there is no need to panic. I used my work laptop, loaded Knoppix, and attached the bad hard drive via a USB connector. I was able to see the files and pull them off. There weren’t too many that I needed. I had also been doing backups.

I am just happy that my skills saved me at least a couple of hundred dollars and earned me a little goodwill from my wife.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

